Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Maryland

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 24-0012

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

September 10, 2024

Ryan Moran Medicaid Director Maryland Department of Health 201 W. Preston St., 5th Floor Baltimore, MD, 21201

Re: Maryland State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0012

Dear Medicaid Director Moran:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0012. This amendment proposes to permanently eliminate the premium payment requirement for children enrolled in MCHP with a family income 212 to 322 percent of the federal poverty limit.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR 447.55. This letter is to inform you that Maryland Medicaid SPA 24-0012 was approved on September 10, 2024, with an effective date of April 9, 2024.

If you have any questions, please contact Talbatha Myatt at 215-861-4259 or via email at Talbatha.Myatt@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 CFR 447.20 Sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447.55 7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Attachment 4.18-F pg. 1-7 (24-0012)	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2 4 — 0 0 1 2 MD 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT XIX XXI 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE April 9, 2024 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2024 \$ 0 b. FFY 2025 \$ 0 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Attachment 4.18-F pg. 1-7 (07-04)	
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT The Maryland Department of Health is amending the State Plan to permanently elifamily income 212 to 322% of the federal poverty limit.	minate the premium payment requirement for children enrolled in MCHP with a	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
1 SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 2. TYPED NAME ricia Roddy 3. TITLE eputy Medicaid Director 4. DATE SUBMITTED 15. RETURN TO Ryan Moran Medicaid Director Medicaid Director Medicaid Director Maryland Department of Health 201 W. Preston St., 5th Floor Baltimore, MD 21201		
6/20/24 FOR CMS U	SE ONLY	
	17. DATE APPROVED 09/10/2024	
PLAN APPROVED - ON	IE COPY ATTACHED	
04/09/2024	19. SI	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL James G. Scott	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Director, Division of Program Operations	
22. REMARKS 7-25-24-the state approved a pen and ink change to update box 5 to refl 447.55.	lect Sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR	

State/Territory:

It should be noted that States can select one or more options in imposing cost sharing (including • copayments, co-insurance, and deductibles) and premiums.

- A. For groups of individuals with family income above 100 percent but below 150 percent of the FPL:
 - 1. Cost sharing
 - a. _X_/ No cost sharing is imposed.
 - b. __/Cost sharing is imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows (specify the amounts by group and services (see below)):

Group of Individuals

Item/Service

Type of Charge.

Deductible Co-insurance Co-payment

*Method of Determining Family Income (including monthly or quarterly period)

*Describe the methodology used to determine family income if it differs from your methodology for determining eligibility.

Attach a schedule of the cost sharing amounts for specific items and services and the various eligibility groups.

b. Limitations:

The total aggregate amount of cost sharing and premiums imposed under section 1916A for an individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income of the

TN No: <u>24-0012</u> Approval Date: **09/10/2024** Effective Date: April 9, 2024

Supersedes TN No: <u>07-04</u>

State/Territory:

- family involved, as applied on a monthly and quarterly basis as specified by the State above.
- Cost sharing with respect to any item or service may not exceed 10 percent of the cost of such item or service.
- c. No cost sharing will be imposed for the following services:
 - Services furnished to individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be provided Medicaid under section 1902(a)(l0)(A)(i), and including services furnished to individuals with respect to whom aid and assistance is made available under part B of title IV to children in foster care and individuals with respect to whom adoption or foster care assistance is made available under part E of such title, without regard to age;
 - Preventive services (such as well baby and well child care and immunizations) provided to children under 18 years of age, regardless of family income;
 - Services furnished to pregnant women, if such services relate to the pregnancy or to any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy;
 - Services furnished to a terminally ill individual who is receiving hospice care, (as defined in section 1905(o) of the Act);
 - Services furnished to any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical institution, if such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such institution under the State Plan, to spend for costs of medical care all but the minimal amount of the individual's income required for personal needs;
 - Emergency services as defined by the Secretary for the purposes of section 1916(a)(2)(D) of the Act;
 - Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act; and
 - Services furnished to women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application of sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act.

d. Enforcement

- 1. _/ Providers are permitted to require, as a condition for the provision of care, items, or services, the payment of any cost sharing.
- 2. / (Ifabove box selected) Providers permitted to reduce or waive cost sharing on a

TN No: <u>24-0012</u> Approval Date: **09/10/2024** Effective Date: April 9, 2024

State/Territory:

case-by-case basis.

- 3. State payments to providers must be reduced by the amount of the beneficiary cost sharing obligations, regardless of whether the provider successfully collects the cost sharing.
- 4. States have the ability to increase total State plan rates to providers to maintain the same level of State payments when cost sharing is introduced.

2. Premiums

No premiums may be imposed for individuals with family income above 100 percent but below 150 percent of the FPL.

B. For groups of individuals with family income above 150 percent of the FPL:

4	~ .	1 .	
Ι.	Cost	sharing	amounts

a. _X_/ No cost sharing is imposed.
b. _/ Cost sharing is imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows (specify amounts by groups and services (see below)):

Group of Individuals

Item/Service

 $\frac{\text{Type of Charge}}{\text{Deductible Co-insurance Co-payment}}$

*Method of Determining Family Income (including monthly or quarterly period)

Attach a copy of the schedule of the cost sharing amounts for specific items and the various

TN No: <u>24-0012</u> Approval Date: **09/10/2024** Effective Date: April 9, 2024

^{*}Describe the methodology used to determine family income if it differs from your methodology for determining eligibility.

State/Territory:

eligibility groups.

b. Limitations:

- The total aggregate amount of all cost sharing and premiums imposed under section 1916A for all individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family. income of the family involved, as applied on a monthly or quarterly basis as specified by the State above.
- Cost sharing with respect to any item or service may not exceed 20 percent of the cost of such item or service.
- c. No cost sharing shall be imposed for the following services:
 - Services furnished to individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be provided Medicaid under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i) of the Act, and including services furnished to individuals with respect to whom aid and assistance is made available under part B of title IV to children in foster care, and individuals with respect to whom adoption or foster care assistance is made available under part E of such title, without regard to age;
 - Preventive services (such as well baby and well child care and immunizations) provided to children under 18 years of age regardless of family income;
 - Services furnished to pregnant women, if such services relate to the pregnancy or to any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy;
 - Services furnished to a terminally ill individual who is receiving hospice care (as defined in section 1905(0) of the Act);
 - Services furnished to any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical institution, if such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such institution under the State plan, to spend for costs of medical care all but a minimal amount of the individual's income required for personal needs;
 - Emergency services as defined by the Secretary for the purposes of section 1916(a)(2)(D) of the Act;
 - Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act; and
 - Services furnished to women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application of sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act.

TN No: <u>24-0012</u> Approval Date: **09/10/2024** Effective Date: April 9, 2024

State/Territory:

d. Enforcement

- I. / Providers are permitted to require, as a condition for the provision of care, items, or services, the payment of any cost sharing.
- 2. _/ (If above box selected) Providers permitted to reduce or waive cost sharing on a case-by-case basis.
- 3. State payments to providers must be reduced by the amount of the beneficiary cost sharing obligations, regardless of whether the provider successfully collects the cost sharing.
- 4. States have the ability to increase total State plan rates to providers to maintain the same level of State payments when cost sharing is introduced.

2. Premiums

- a. X_{-} No premiums are imposed.
- b. __/ Premiums are imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows (specify the premium amount by group and income level.

TN No: <u>24-0012</u> Approval Date: **09/10/2024** Effective Date: April 9, 2024

State/Territory:

b. Limitation:

- The total aggregate amount of premiums and cost sharing imposed for all individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income of the family involved, as applied on a monthly or quarterly basis as specified by the State above.
- c. No premiums shall be imposed for the following individuals:
 - Individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be provided medical assistance under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i), and including individuals with respect to whom aid or assistance is made available under part B of title IV to children in foster care and individuals with respect to whom adoption or foster care assistance is made available under part E of such title, without regard to age;
 - Pregnant women;
 - Any terminally ill individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(o);
 - Any individual whos an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or other medical institution, if such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such institution under the State plan, to spend for costs of
 - medical care all but a minimal amount of the individual's income required for personal needs; and
 - Women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application of sections 1 902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act.

d. Enforcement

- 1. __/ Prepayment required for the following groups of individuals who are applying for Medicaid: The State determines the child meets eligibility criteria and notifies the family that the child will be eligible if the family pays the premium. The family sends the initial premium within 30 days. For children who do not have MCO history within 120 days, the State sends the family an MCO enrollment packet. The family has 21 days to choose an MCO or the child will be assigned to an MCO in their area
- 2. __/ Eligibility terminated after failure to pay for 60 days for the following groups of individuals who are receiving Medicaid:

TN No: <u>24-0012</u> Approval Date: **09/10/2024** Effective Date: April 9, 2024

Supersedes TN No: <u>07-04</u>

3	State/Territory:/ Payment will be waived on a case-by-case basis for undue hardship.
C. Pe	eriod of determining aggregate 5 percent cap
S	pecify the period for which the 5 percent maximum would be applied.
	Quarterly
	Monthly

D. Method for tracking cost sharing amounts

Describe the State process used for tracking cost sharing and informing beneficiaries and providers of their beneficiary's liability and informing providers when an individual has reached his/her maximum so further costs are no longer charged.

Also describe the State process for informing beneficiaries and providers of the allowable cost sharing amounts.

TN No: 24-0012 Approval Date: 09/10/2024 Effective Date: April 9, 2024