


DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
230 South Dearborn 
Chicago, Illinois 60604 

Financial Management Group 

John Connolly
Medicaid Director Health Care Administration  
State of Minnesota, Department of Human Services 
540 Cedar Street PO Box 64983  
ST. Paul, MN 55167-0983 

RE:  TN 24-0024 

Dear Director Connolly: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Minnesota state 
plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B 24-0024, which was submitted to CMS on July 24, 
2024. This plan amendment implements a three percent increase for Partial Hospitalization services. 

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in 
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of July 1, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state 
plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Debi Benson at 
312-886-0360 or via email at Deborah.Benson@cms.hhs.gov.  

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

September 10, 2024

      

      







STATE: MINNESOTA ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Effective: July 1, 2024 Page 45e-3 
TN: 24-24 
Approved: 
Supersedes:22-01 (21-01, 20-15-A,19-02,18-05,15-17,15-16,11-10,10-22,09-17,08-06,04- 
15(a),04-08) 
13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

Payment rates for individual and group therapy services are based on efficiency standards by 
which counseling-staff cost are at least 50% of all costs for providing both group and 
individual therapy. Reimbursement for any combination of individual and group therapy 
services in excess of 6 hours per day or 30 hours per week per beneficiary requires prior 
authorization. 

Payment rates for medication assisted therapy services and medication assisted therapy 
services plus additional counseling services include the administration of methadone and 
other drugs in combination with counseling. Rates are based on standards of efficiency 
by which counseling staff costs are at least 50% of all service costs to provide the 
minimum number of treatment hours, to which the drug dosing cost is added. Medication 
assisted therapy services are generally provided daily, on an outpatient basis. For 
services provided in a residential setting, the daily residential rate is increased by 
the dosing cost. 

Payment rates for high Intensity residential treatment services, provided on a daily 
basis to equal a minimum of 30 treatment hours per week, are based on an averaging of 
historical rates for this intensity. 

Payment rates for medium intensity residential treatment services, provided on a daily 
basis to equal a minimum of 15 treatment hours per week, are based on an averaging of 
historical rates for this intensity. 

Payment rates for low intensity residential treatment services, provided on a daily 
basis to equal a minimum of five treatment hours per week, are based on an averaging of 
historical rates for this intensity. 

Payment rates for substance use disorder services provided in a hospital- based  
residential program are based on an averaging of historical rates for these programs. 

Payment rates for withdrawal management are based on historical costs of direct and 
indirect services and account for variation in the intensity of the treatment and the 
required staffing levels. 

The following adjustments to the base rates apply to outpatient services rendered by SUD 
providers certified by the Commissioner as meeting the standards of Minnesota’s substance use 
disorder 1115 waiver demonstration. Providers eligible for this adjustment must offer 
Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) services onsite or facilitate access to MAT services 
offsite and maintain formal referral arrangements with other demonstration providers offering 
step up and step down levels of care. Adjustments under this section are contingent on 
provider certification and Minnesota’s continued participation in the federal demonstration 
waiver. 

Payment is increased by 25 percent for low, medium, and high intensity residential treatment 
services. Eligible providers must have medical, psychological, laboratory, toxicology, and  
pharmacological services available through consultation and referral in accordance with 
standards published by the Commissioner. 

Payment is increased by 20 percent for outpatient SUD treatment services including individual 
and group therapy services in licensed adult and adolescent programs and medication assisted 
therapy in adult programs. Eligible providers must have medical, psychological, laboratory, 
toxicology, and pharmacological services available through consultation and referral in 
accordance with standards published by the Commissioner. 
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STATE: MINNESOTA ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 

Effective: July 1, 2024 Page 45e-4   
TN: 24-24
Approved: 
Supersedes: 22-01 

13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued)

Providers enrolling in the 1115 waiver demonstration between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 
2022 will receive the increases described in pages 45e, 45e 2, and 45e 3 by providing 
evidence of the meaningful steps taken to satisfy 1115 waiver demonstration  
requirements. Meaningful steps is defined as: 1115 waiver demonstration enrollees who 
provide evidence, showing implementation of policy, procedure or clinical  
documentation supporting the core areas of the 1115 waiver demonstration listed below: 

• Treatment services, consultation and referral;
• Assessment and placement;
• Individual treatment plan;
• Documentation of treatment services;
• Treatment plan review;

Additionally, a provider will be determined to have met the meaningful step threshold 
if they have received clinical case approval from the 1115 demonstration waiver 
clinical review agent. 

Payment for ASAM level 3.1 clinically managed low-intensity residential services is a 
daily per-diem rate based on an average of historical costs for this intensity.  
Programs must provide clients at least 5 hours per week of individual or group 
counseling services as directed by individual treatment plans. Programs providing 
clients at least 15 hours per week of individual or group counseling services as 
directed by individual treatment plans may use the corresponding 15 hour per week 
per-diem rate. 

Payment for ASAM level 3.3 clinically managed population specific high-intensity  
residential services is a daily per-diem rate based on an average of historical costs 
for this intensity. Programs must be enrolled as a disability responsive program and 
specialize serving participants with traumatic brain injuries or other cognitive 
impairments. Programs must provide clients daily individual or group counseling 
services as directed by individual treatment plans.  

Payment for ASAM level 3.5 clinically managed high-intensity residential services is 
a daily per-diem rate based on an average of historical costs for this intensity. 

 

Programs must have a 24 hour staffing coverage and provide clients daily individual  
or group counseling services as directed by individual treatment plans. 

Payment rates for substance use disorder services provided in a hospital- based 
residential program are based on an averaging of historical rates for these programs. 

Residential SUD providers must have medical, psychological, laboratory, toxicology, and 
pharmacological services available through consultation and referral in accordance with 
standards published by the Commissioner. 
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