Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Missouri

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 24-0003

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS Form 179
- 3) Approved SPA Page

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

July 30, 2024

Todd Richardson, Director MO HealthNet Division Missouri Department of Social Services P O Box 6500 Jefferson City, MO 65102-6500

RE: Missouri State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0003

Dear Director Richardson:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed its review of Missouri's State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal #24-0003, submitted on June 27, 2024. The SPA implements a 90-day grace period for behavior technicians to be covered under the other licensed practitioner Medicaid benefit while working to acquire the Registered Behavior Technician credential.

CMS approved SPA #24-0003 on July 30, 2024, with an effective date of April 1, 2024. Enclosed is a copy of the CMS-179 summary form, as well as the approved pages for incorporation into the Missouri State Plan.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact Mandy Strom at Mandy.Strom@cms.hhs.gov or (303) 844-7068.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

ce: Marissa Crump, Missouri Medicaid Glenda Kremer, Missouri Medicaid Eric Martin, Missouri Medicaid

FORM CMS-179 (09/24)

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	$ \begin{array}{c ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc$
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT XIX XXI
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE April 1, 2024
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 CFR 440.60	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a. FFY 24 \$ 0 b. FFY 25 \$ 0
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 3.1-A 10gk	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) TN 23-0017; 3.1-a 10gk
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT	
This state plan amendment implements a 90 day grace period for behavior technicians to acquire the Registered Behavior Technician credential.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	OTHER, ASSPECIFIED:
11 SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL	15. RETURN TO
12. TYPED NAME Robert J. Knodell	
13. TITLE Director	
14. DATE SUBMITTED 4	
16. DATE RECEIVED	USE ONLY 17. DATE APPROVED
June 27, 2024	July 30, 2024
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
April 1, 2024 20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
James G, Scott	Director, Division of Program Operations
AL HARMANO	

3.1-A Rev. 04/24

State: Missouri Page 10gk

6.d Other Licensed Practitioners' (cont.)

Licensed Psychologists

Licensed Psychologists are able to furnish services within the scope of their practice as defined by State Law.

Licensed Assistant Behavior Analysts

Licensed Assistant Behavior Analysts are able to furnish services within the scope of their practice as defined by State Law.

Registered Behavior Technicians (RBTTM)

Registered Behavior Technicians (RBT) are paraprofessionals who practice under the supervision of a licensed psychologist, licensed behavior analyst, or licensed assistant behavior analyst. The individual supervising the RBT is responsible for the work performed by the RBT. RBTs must be 18 years of age or older and possess minimum of a high school diploma or national equivalent. RBTs also must have completed 40 hours of RBT training and passed the RBT exam.

Behavior Technicians

Behavior Technicians are paraprofessionals who practice under the supervision of a licensed psychologist, licensed behavior analyst, or licensed assistant behavior analyst. The individual supervising the Behavior Technician is responsible for the work performed by the Behavior Technician. Behavior Technicians must be 18 years of age and possess a minimum of a high school diploma or national equivalent. Behavior Technicians also must have completed 40 hours of RBT training and passed the RBT initial competency assessment. Behavior technicians may provide services for up to 90 calendar days before they will be required to be a registered behavior technician.

State Plan TN No. 24-0003 Effective Date: April 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. 23-0017 Approval Date: July 30, 2024