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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-14-26
Baltimore, Maryland   21244-1850

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services
Disabled and Elderly Health Programs Group

August 24, 2022 

Drew L. Snyder  
Executive Director 
State of Mississippi 
Division of Medicaid 
550 High Street, Suite 1000
Jackson, MS 39201-1399 

Dear Drew Snyder: 

The CMS Division of Pharmacy team has reviewed Mississippi’s State Plan Amendment (SPA) 
21-0018-A received in the CMS Division of Program Operations on April 22, 2022.  This SPA
approves the removal of the five percent (5%) reimbursement reduction for physician
administered drugs.

Based on the information provided and consistent with the regulations at 42 CFR 430.20, we are 
pleased to inform you that SPA 21-0018-A is approved with an effective date of July 1, 202 . Our
review was limited to the materials necessary to evaluate the SPA under applicable federal laws and 
regulations.  

We are attaching a copy of the signed CMS-179 form, as well as the pages approved for incorporation 
into Mississippi’s state plan.  If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact 
Charlotte Amponsah at (410) 786-1092 or charlotte.amponsah@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

John M. Coster, Ph.D., R.Ph.
Director
Division of Pharmacy 

cc:       Robin Bradshaw, State of Mississippi, Division of Medicaid 

Etta Hawkins, CMS Division of Program Operations - South Branch 

      
      





STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT Attachment 4.19-B
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MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 12a

State of Mississippi

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES –OTHER TYPES OF CARE

Prescribed Drugs

The Division of Medicaid reimburses for certain legend and non-legend drugs, as authorized under the State Plan, prescribed
by a Mississippi enrolled Medicaid prescribing provider licensed to prescribe drugs and dispensed by a Mississippi enrolled
Medicaid pharmacy in accordance with Federal and State laws.

The Division of Medicaid Prescription Drug Program conforms to the Medicaid Prudent Pharmaceutical Purchasing Program as
set forth in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 (OBRA’90) and complies with the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid (CMS) Covered Outpatient Drug Final Rule in accordance with 42 C.F.R. Part 447.

The Division of Medicaid reimburses the following drugs as described below:

A. Brand Name drugs – Ingredient cost based on actual acquisition cost (AAC) which is defined as the lesser of:
1. National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29, or
2. Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus zero percent (0%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29 when no

NADAC is available or
3. A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29 when no

NADAC or WAC are available, or.
4. The provider’s usual and customary charge.

B. Generic drugs – Ingredient cost based on AAC which is defined as the lesser of:
1. NADAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29, or
2. WAC plus zero percent (0%) plus a  professional dispensing fee of $11.29 when no  NADAC is

available, or
3. A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29 when no

NADAC or WAC are available, or
4. The provider’s usual and customary charge.

C. Reimbursement for 340B covered entities as described in section 1927(a)(5)(B) of the Act, including an Indian
Health Service, tribal and urban Indian pharmacy as follows:
1. Purchased 340B drugs – Ingredient cost must be no more than the 340B AAC defined as the price at which the

covered entity has paid the wholesaler or manufacturer for the covered outpatient drug plus a professional dispensing
fee of $11.29.

2. Drugs purchased outside of the 340B program by covered entities – Ingredient cost based on AAC which is
defined as the lesser of:
a. NADAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29, or
b. WAC plus zero percent (0%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29 when no NADAC is

available, or
c. A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional dispensing fee of

$11.29 when no WAC is available, or
d. The provider’s usual and customary charge.

3. Drugs acquired through the federal 340B drug pricing program and dispensed by 340B contract
pharmacies are not covered.

D. Drugs acquired via the Federal Supply Schedule (FSS) – Ingredient cost based on AAC plus a professional
dispensing fee of $11.29.
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E. Drugs acquired at Nominal Price (outside of 340B or FSS) – Ingredient cost based on AAC plus a
professional dispensing fee of $11.29.

F. Specialty drugs are defined by the Division of Medicaid, updated no less than monthly, and listed at
https://medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-reimbursement/. Ingredient cost is defined as the
lesser of:
1. For a 340B covered entity:

a. Purchased 340B drugs – Ingredient cost must be no more than the 340B AAC defined as the price at
which the covered entity has paid the wholesaler or manufacturer for the outpatient drug plus a
professional dispensing fee of $61.14.

b. Drugs purchased outside of the 340B program by covered entities – Ingredient cost is defined as the
lesser of:
1) WAC plus zero percent (0%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $61.14, or
2) A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional

dispensing fee of $61.14 when no WAC is available, or
3) The provider’s usual and customary charge.

2. For a non-340B covered entity:
a. WAC plus zero percent (0%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $61.14, or
b. A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional dispensing fee of

$61.14 when no WAC is available, or
c. The provider’s usual and customary charge.

G. Drugs not dispensed by a retail community pharmacy (e.g., institutional or long-term care pharmacy when not
included as part of an inpatient stay) – Ingredient cost based on AAC which is defined as the lesser of:
1. NADAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29, or
2. WAC plus zero percent (0%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $11.29 when no NADAC is

available, or
3. A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional dispensing fee of

$11.29 when no NADAC or WAC are available, or
4. The provider’s usual and customary charge.

H. Clotting Factor from Specialty Pharmacies, Hemophilia Treatment Centers (HTCs), or Centers of
Excellence – Ingredient cost defined as:
1. For a 340B covered entity:

a. Purchased 340B drugs – Ingredient cost must be no more than the 340B AAC defined as the price at
which the covered entity has paid the wholesaler or manufacturer for the clotting factor product
plus a professional dispensing fee of $0.02 per Unit

b. For drugs purchased outside of the 340B program by covered entities reimbursement is the lesser of the
provider’s total usual and customary charge or the ingredient cost as defined in the hierarchy below :
1) WAC minus ten percent (10%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $0.02 per Unit. If there is no

WAC available, then
2) A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional

dispensing fee of $0.02.
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2. For a non-340B covered entity reimbursement for prescribed drugs is the lesser of the provider’s
total usual and customary charge or an ingredient cost as defined in the hierarchy below:
a. WAC minus ten percent (10%) plus a professional dispensing fee of $0.02 per Unit. If there

is no WAC available, then
b. A rate set by the Division of Medicaid’s rate-setting vendor plus a professional dispensing

fee of $0.02.

I. Physician Administered Drugs and Implantable Drug System Devices as defined in Attachment 3.1-
A, Exhibit 12a, Page 5 and reimbursed:
1. Using the lesser of methodology under the pharmacy benefit as described in A - F above, or
2. As described in Attachment 4.19-B, pages 12a.3-12a.4.

J. Prescribed drugs dispensed by Indian Health Services are reimbursed the current Federal Register
encounter rate for outpatient hospital. Refer to Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 3, Page 1.

II. The Division of Medicaid does not reimburse for Investigational Drugs.

III. Usual and Customary Charges
The Division of Medicaid defines usual and customary charge as the lowest price the pharmacy would
charge to a particular customer if such customer were paying cash for the identical prescription drug
services on the date dispensed. This includes any applicable discounts including, but not limited to,
senior discounts, frequent shopper discounts, and other special discounts offered to attract customers
such as four dollar ($4.00) flat rate generic price lists. A pharmacy cannot have a usual and customary
charge for prescription drug programs that differs from either cash customers or other third-party
programs. The pharmacy must submit the accurate usual and customary charge with respect to all claims
for prescription drug services.

IV. Overall, the Division of Medicaid’s payment will not exceed the federal upper limit (FUL) based on the
NADAC for ingredient reimbursement in the aggregate for multiple source drugs.
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Hospital Outpatient Drugs

a. Drugs paid outside the Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS)/Ambulatory Payment
Classification (APC) rate will be reimbursed by a Medicare fee. If there is no Medicare fee
the drug will be reimbursed using a MS Medicaid OPPS Chemotherapy fee.

b. The APC and the Medicare fees on the MS Medicaid OPPS fee schedule will be calculated
based on the Medicare outpatient Addendum B published by the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS) as of January 1 of each year. The MS Medicaid OPPS fee
schedule is updated and effective July 1 of each year with no retroactive adjustments.

c. Chemotherapy drugs and concomitant non-chemotherapy drugs administered during the
chemotherapy treatment billed on the same claim as the chemotherapy treatment will be paid
a MS Medicaid OPPS Chemotherapy fee. The MS Medicaid OPPS Chemotherapy fee will
be the amount listed on the Medicare Average Sales Price (ASP) Drug Pricing File,
titled Payment Allowance Limits for Medicare Part B, published by CMS as of January
1 of each year. The ASP files are one-hundred six percent (106%) of the ASP
calculated from data submitted by drug manufacturers. The MS Medicaid OPPS
Chemotherapy fee is updated and effective July 1 of each year with no retroactive
adjustments.

d. If there is no APC relative weight, Medicare payment rate, MS Medicaid OPPS
Chemotherapy fee or ASP for a drug, reimbursement is made at no more than one-hundred
percent (100%) of the provider’s acquisition cost.

e. All rates are published at https://medicaid.ms.gov/providers/fee-schedules-and-rates/#.
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Physician Administered Drugs and Implantable Drug System Devices

Drugs and Biologicals

Drugs and Biologicals are reimbursed at the lesser of the provider’s usual and customary charge or a fee
from a statewide uniform fee schedule updated July 1 of each year and effective for services provided on
or after that date. The statewide uniform fee schedule will be calculated using the April 1 Medicare Part B
Drug Fee Schedule of each year.

1) If there is no Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule a fee will be calculated at one hundred percent
(100%) of the current April 1 Medicare Addendum B Outpatient Prospective Payment System
(OPPS) Fee Schedule updated July 1 of each year and effective for services provided on or after
that date.

2) If there is no Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule or Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule a
fee will be calculated using Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) + 0% in effect on April 1 of each
year and updated July 1 of each year and effective for services provided on or after that date.

3) If there is no (a) Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule, Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee or WAC
+ 0% or (b) when it is determined, based on documentation, that a drug or biological fee is
insufficient for the Mississippi Medicaid population or could result in a potential access issue, the
price will be one hundred percent (100%) of the current invoice submitted by the provider
including:

(1) A matching National Drug Code (NDC) as the product provided, and

(2) Medical documentation of the dosage administered.

Implantable Drug System Devices

Implantable drug system devices are reimbursed at the lesser of the provider’s usual and customary charge
or a fee from a statewide uniform fee schedule updated July 1 of each year and effective for services
provided on or after that date. The statewide uniform fee schedule will be calculated using the April 1
Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule of each year.

1) If there is no Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule a fee will be calculated at one hundred percent
(100%) of the current April 1 Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule updated July 1 of each
year and effective for services provided on or after that date.

2) If there is no Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule or Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule a
fee will be calculated using WAC + 0% in effect on April 1 of each year and updated July 1 of each
year and effective for services provided on or after that date.
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3) If there is no (a) Medicare Part B Drug Fee Schedule, Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule
or WAC + 0% or (b) when it is determined, based on documentation, that an implantable drug
device system fee is insufficient for the Mississippi Medicaid population or could result in a
potential access issue, the price will be one hundred percent (100%) of the current invoice submitted
by the provider including:

(1) A matching National Drug Code (NDC) as the product provided, and

(2) Medical documentation of the dosage administered.

Diagnostic or Therapeutic Radiopharmaceuticals and Contrast Imaging Agents

Diagnostic or therapeutic radiopharmaceuticals and contrast imaging agents are reimbursed at the lesser of
the provider’s usual and customary charge or a fee from a statewide uniform fee schedule updated July 1
of each year and effective for services provided on or after that date. The statewide uniform fee schedule
will be calculated using one hundred percent (100%) of the April Medicare Radiopharmaceutical Fee
Schedule.

1) If there is no Medicare Radiopharmaceutical Fee a fee will be calculated at one hundred percent
(100%) of the current April 1 Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule updated July 1 of each
year and effective for services provided on or after that date.

2) If there is no Medicare Radiopharmaceutical Fee or Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule a
fee will be calculated using WAC + 0% in effect on April 1 of each year and updated July 1 of each
year and effective for services provided on or after that date.

3) If there is no (a) Medicare Radiopharmaceutical Fee, Medicare Addendum B OPPS Fee Schedule
or WAC + 0% or (b) when it is determined, based on documentation, that a diagnostic or therapeutic
radiopharmaceuticals and contrast imaging agent fee is insufficient for the Mississippi Medicaid
population or could result in a potential access issue, the price will be one hundred percent (100%)
of the current invoice submitted by the provider including:

(1) A matching National Drug Code (NDC) as the product provided, and

(2) Medical documentation of the dosage administered.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental
and private providers of Physician Administered Drugs and Implantable Drug System Devices. All rates
are published at www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/fee-schedules-and-rates/#.




