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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Lori A. Shibinette, Commissioner 
Department of Health and Human Services 
State of New Hampshire 
129 Pleasant Street 
Concord, NH 03301 

RE:  New Hampshire 21-0054 

Dear Commissioner Shibinette: 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-A of your Medicaid State plan submitted 
under transmittal number (TN) 21-0054. Effective November 20, 2021, this amendment will provide a $75 
inpatient hospital payment for every live birth to address the cost of newborn genetic testing. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 
1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal 
regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.  This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 21-
0054 is approved effective November 20, 2021.  The CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s) are attached. 

Please note that our approval relates only to the requested change in payment methodology and that the 
resultant rates and related expenditures are consistent with section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Act.  CMS may 
still have questions on the funding structure in determining it's consistent with sections 1902(a)(2), 1903(a), 
and 1903(w) of the Act as implemented by 42 CFR §433.54.  Approval of the subject SPA does not relieve 
the state of its responsibility to comply with federal laws and regulations, and to ensure that claims for 
federal funding are consistent with all applicable requirements.  On April 2, 2021, CMS issued a letter on 
the New Hampshire Granite Advantage Health Care Trust Fund, in companion to the approval of New 
Hampshire's Medicaid managed care state directed payment preprints.  The letter requested additional 
information to allow CMS to further review the state's sources of non-federal share financing of the 
Medicaid adult expansion population.  The state responded to the letter on May 28, 2021, and CMS will 
continue to review the funding structure in question based on the state's response.  The result of the review 
may also be applicable to the expenditures related to the payments authorized in this SPA. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Mark Wong at (415) 744-3561 or 
mark.wong@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 
Director 

Enclosures 

December 22, 2021
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(3) For in-state hospitals only, inpatient (physical) rehabilitative Medicaid discharges in Medicare
certified DPU’s or rehabilitation hospitals shall be paid only a flat rate (with no additional
outlier payments) for the rehabilitation DRG’s 945 and 946.  The rate represents an average
cost across such facilities.

(4) Neonatal care for Medicaid discharges assigned certain DRG’s (DRG 789 through 794) shall 
be paid only a per diem rate (with no additional outlier payments) associated with the specific
DRG.  The rate shall be paid at 65% of the full per diem amount.

(5) Instate hospitals shall receive a $75 payment for each live birth in order to support genetic
testing conducted after a live birth.

(6) In order to ensure recipient access to maternity-related labor and delivery services, critical 
access hospitals in Coos County in New Hampshire will be paid as a separate peer group at an
enhanced rate for those services by applying a percentage multiplier of 300% to the DRG
based payment.

b. Certain costs over and above normal hospital operating costs shall be recognized and paid in
addition to the DRG payments made under 3.a. above.  These payments shall be made as pass-
through payments to individual hospitals.  Except where specifically noted otherwise, such
payments shall apply to all hospitals—in-state, border, and out-of-state.

(1) For in-state hospitals only, direct medical education costs shall be paid at a rate proportional to
the Medicaid share, as calculated using Medicare principles, of actual hospital-specific costs
and proportional to each hospital's share of the Medicaid annual budgeted amount.  Such
payments shall be made semi-annually, except that direct medical education payments shall be
suspended for the period beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2023.

(2) Day outliers shall be paid (except as specified in 3.a.(3) and (4)) for all DRG’s for all facilities
on a per diem basis, at 60% of the calculated per diem amount (see 3.d. for calculation), and
outlier payments shall be added to the DRG payments.  Payment shall be made for medically
necessary days in excess of the trim point associated with a given DRG.  Medicare trim points
shall be used except where New Hampshire specific trim points have been established.
However, day outlier payments shall be suspended beginning with March 1, 2010 discharge
dates, except that this suspension shall not apply to claims for infants who have not attained
the age of one year, and to claims for children who have not attained the age of six years.

(3) The Medicare deductible amount for patients who are Medicare/Medicaid (dually) eligible
shall be recognized and paid.
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