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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

August 27, 2024 

Lori A. Weaver 
Commissioner 
Department of Health and Human Services 
Office of the Commissioner 
129 Pleasant Street 
Concord, NH 03301 

Re: New Hampshire State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0033 

Dear Commissioner Weaver: 

MS 
CENTERS FOR MEOICARE & MEOICAIU SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICE5 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0033. This amendment indicates 
that New Hampshire complies with the Consolidated Appropriations Act Chapter 146, Laws of 
2024 (SB312) regarding third-party liability. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations Section 1902(a)(25)(1) of the Social Security 
Act. This letter infonns you that New Hampshire's Medicaid SPA TN 24-0033 was approved on 
August 27, 2024, with an effective date of July 1, 2024. 

Enclosed are copies of Fonn CMS-179 and approved SPA pages to be incorporated into the New 
Hampshire State Plan. 

If you have any questions, please contact Joyce Buttenvorth at (857) 357-6375 or via email at 
Joyce.Butterworth@cms.hhs.gov. 

Enclosures 

cc: Henry Lipman, State Medicaid Director 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 

Dawn Tierney, Medicaid Business and Policy 
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CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 

STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2.STATE 

2 4 _Q 0 3 3 NH 
-- ---- --

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION TlllE OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT (e_) XIX 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
0 

July 1, 2024 

XXI 

FORM APPROVED 

0MB No. 0938-0193 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 
Section 1902(a )(25)(I) of the Social Security Act a FFY 2024 $ 0 

b .  FFY 2025 $ 0 
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 

Attachment 4.22-B, Page 2 OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 
Section 4, page 69a Attachment 4.22-B, Page 2 (TN 22-0030) 

Section 4, page 69a (TN 22-0030) 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 
Compliance with the Third Party Liability Requirements under the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2022 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

AGENCY OFFICIAL 

{!) OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

15. RETURN TO 
Sara Hall 

_____________ Division of Medicaid Services - Brown Building 
1 . 1 r 1-'cu NAIVlc 129 Pleasant Street 

Ann H. Landry Concord, NH 03301 
----------------------

13. TITLE 
Associate Commisioner 

14. DATE SUBMITTED 
August8,2024 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 

16. DATE RECEIVED 17 DATE APPROVED 
August 8, 2024 August 27, 2024 

PLAN APPROVED· ONE COPY A TT ACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 19. SIG - - ---- - - - . 

July 1, 2024 

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

James G. Scott 
22. REMARKS 

Governor's comments, i f  any, will follow. 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) 

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

Director, Division of Program Operations 

Instructions on Back 



Attachment 4.22-B 
Page 2 
0MB NO.: 0938-0193 

the MMIS in the previous month. NH does not have a cost-effectiveness threshold to pursue 
recovery on a health insurance claim. However, any claims under $50 that are not paid by the 
primary carrier within 6 months may be closed as not recoverable. 

Generally, casualty insurance claims are pursued for recovery. Casualty cases are determined by 
referral/inquiry from a provider, insurance carrier, Medicaid member, or attorney. Paid claims 
related to an accident/Injury on a Medicaid client are manually reviewed. MMIS automatically 
reviews the paid amount on an accident- or injury-related claim and initiates a Medical Service 
Questionnaire (MSQ) letter to the client if a case has not already been established. Casual cases are 
pursued regardless of amount, if it is determined recovery is probable. 

(6) The Medicaid provider may not refuse covered services to an individual who is eligible for 
medical assistance under the plan on account of a third party's potential liability. The 
provider may not seek to collect from the Medicaid eligible individual (or any financially 
responsible relative or representative of that individual) if the total amount of the third 
party liability is equal to or greater than the amount payable under the State Plan (which 
includes, when applicable, approved cost-sharing payments.) When the total third party 
payment is less than the amount payable under the State Plan (which includes, when 
applicable, approved cost-sharing payments), the provider may collect from the individual 
(or any financially responsible relative or representative) an amount the lesser of any 
approved cost-sharing amount or the difference between the amount payable under the 
State Plan and the total third party payment. 

(7) NH has passed legislation that bars responsible third-party payers from refusing payment to 
NH Medicaid for an item or service solely on the basis that such item or service did not 
receive prior authorization under the third-party payer's rules. If the responsible third-party 
payer requires prior authorization for an item or service furnished to a Medicaid-eligible 
individual, the responsible third-party payer must accept the authorization provided by the 
State that the item or service is covered under the State Plan ( or waiver of such plan) for 
such individual, as if such authorization was made by the third party for such item or 
service. NH has also passed legislation that requires third parties to respond within 60 days 
of receiving an inquiry from the Department regarding a health care claim that is submitted 
not later than three years after the provision of such item or service. These provisions 
comply with section 202 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA), 2022. 

TN No: 24-0033 
Supersedes 
TN No: 22-0030 

Approval Date: 08/27/2024 Effective Date: 07/01/2024 



Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1 (MB) 

FEBRUARY 1994 

State/Territory: New Hampshire 

Citation 

42 CFR 433.139 (b)(3)(i) 

42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(A) 

42 CFR 433.139(f)(2) 

42 CFR 433.139(f)(3) 

42 CFR 447.20 

42 CFR 447.15 

1902(a)(25)(1) 

TN No. 24-0033 

Supersedes 

TN No. 2 2 -0030 

(c) 

(d) 

(e) 

69a 

The State will make payment for pediatric preventive 

services, including early and periodic screening, 

diagnosis, and treatment services, without regard to 

third party liability and seek reimbursement from any 

liable third party to the extent of such legal liability. 

Providers are required to bill liable third 

parties when services covered under the plan 

are furnished to an individual on whose behalf 

child support enforcement is being carried out 

by the State IV-D agency. 

ATTACHMENT 4.22-B specifies the following: 

(1) The method used in determining a 

provider's compliance with the third 

party billing requirements at 

(2) 

(3) 

§433 .139( b )(3 )(ii)( C). 

The threshold amount or other guideline 

used in determining whether to seek 

recovery of reimbursement from a liable 

third party, or the process by which the 

agency determines that seeking recovery of 

reimbursement would not be cost effective. 

The dollar amount or time period the State 

uses to accumulate billings from a 
particular liable third party in making 

the decision to seek recovery of 

reimbursement. 

The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider 

furnishing a service for which a third party is 

liable follows the restrictions specified in 

42 CFR 447.20. 

(7) The Medicaid agency ensures that laws are in effect that bar liable 

third-party payers from refusing payment to NH Medicaid for an item or 

service solely on the basis that such item or service did not receive prior 

authorization under the third-party payer's rules and requires third­

parties to respond within 60 days of receiving an inquiry from the 

Department regarding a health care claim that is submitted not later 

than three years after the provision of such item or service. These laws 

comply with the provisions of section 202 of the Consolidated 

Appropriations Act, 2022. 

ApprovalDate:08/27/2024 Effective Date: 07/01/2024 
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