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This file contains the following documents in the order listed: 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Amir Bassiri  
Medicaid Director  
New York State Department of Health  
99 Washington Ave – One Commerce Plaza Suite 1432 Albany, NY 12210 

RE:  TN 23-0025 

Dear Medicaid Director: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed New York 
state plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-D NY 23-0025, which was submitted to CMS on 
(March 30, 2023). This plan amendment updates the minimum wage values to bring minimum wage 
up to the authorized final minimum wage of $15.00. 

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements, including in 
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903 as it relates to the identification of an adequate 
source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 1902(a)(2) of the 
Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of January 1, 2023. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new 
state plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Kristina Mack at 
617-565-1225 or via email at Kristina.Mack-Webb@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 
Director 
Financial Management Group 

Enclosures 

September 5, 2024

 
      

      





Attachment 4.19-D 
Part I 

New York 
110(d)(27) 

TN  #23-0025    Approval Date        

Supersedes TN  #22-0025   Effective Date January 1, 2023  

1905(a)(4)(A) Nursing Facility Services 

Adjustment for Minimum Wage Increases.  Effective January 1, 2017, and every January 1, thereafter 
until the minimum wage reaches the state statutorily described per hour wage as shown below, a minimum 
wage add-on will be developed and applied to the specialty and non-specialty Nursing Home rate. 

Minimum Wage 
(MW) Region 12/31/2016 12/31/2017 12/31/2018 12/31/2019 12/31/2020 12/31/2021 12/31/2022 

New York City $11.00 $13.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00 
Nassau, Suffolk, 
& Westchester 
counties  

$10.00 $11.00 $12.00 $13.00 $14.00 $15.00 $15.00 

Remainder of 
the State $9.70 $10.40 $11.10 $11.80 $12.50 $13.20  $14.20* 

*Effective January 1, 2023, the minimum wage value for the Remainder of the State will be $14.20.

The minimum wage adjustment will be developed and implemented as follows: 

1. Minimum wage costs will mean the additional costs incurred beginning January 1, 2017, and thereafter, as
a result of New York State statutory increases to minimum wages until all regions of the state reach $15.00
per hour.

2. The 2017 facility specific minimum wage add-on will be developed based on collected survey data received
and attested to by nursing facility providers.  If a facility does not submit a survey, the minimum wage
add-on will be calculated based on the facility’s Residential Health Care Facility (RHCF) cost report wage
data from two years prior to the period being calculated. If a facility fails to submit both the attested
survey and the cost report, the facility’s minimum wage add-on will not be calculated.

i. Minimum wage cost development based on survey data collected.
a. Survey data will be collected for facility specific wage data.
b. Facilities will report by wage bands, the total count of FTEs and total hours paid to all employees

(contracted and non-contracted staff) earning less than the statutory minimum wage applicable for
each region.

c. Facilities will report an average fringe benefit percentage for the employees directly affected by the
minimum wage increase.

d. The minimum wage costs are calculated by multiplying the total hours paid by the difference
between the statutory minimum wage and the midpoint of each wage band where the facility has
reported total hours paid. To this result, the facility’s average fringe benefit percentage is applied
and added to the costs.
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