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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600

Chicago, Illinois 60601

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

October 28, 2021

Ms. Stephanie Stephens

State Medicaid/CHIP Director

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Mail Code: H100

Post Office Box 13247

Austin, Texas 78711

RE: Texas TN 21-0037
Dear Ms. Stephens:

We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B,
TX#21-0037, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on
September 23, 2021. This state plan amendment updates the ambulatory surgical center services fee
schedule.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of September 1, 2021. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the
new state plan page.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Monica Neiman at
monica.neiman@cms.hhs.gov

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE:
21-0037 TEXAS
3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:
September 1, 2021

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):
O NEW STATE PLAN O

AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT

(Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:

Social Security Act §1902(a) (30); 42 CFR §447.201(b).

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
* Figures in whole thousands

a.FFY 2021 $ 1*
b. FFY 2022 $10*
c. FFY 2023 $10*

SEE ATTACHMENT

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR
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Attachment 4.19-B
Page 7 (g)

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (if Applicable):

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 7 (g) (TN 21-0014)

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

The proposed amendment updates the fee schedule for Ambulatory Surgical Centers.

. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

X OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor's Office this date.
Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.

o0 0O 0O
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13. TYPED NAME:
Stephanie Stephens
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14. TITLE:
State Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED:
September 23, 2021
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September 23, 2021

18. DATE APPROVED:
October 28, 2021
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19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
September 1, 2021

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:

21. TYPED NAME: 22, TITLE:
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 7 (g9)

16. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs) (Continued)

(f) Example 2:

1.
2.
3.

4.

Billed charges = $75.00

Medicaid published fee = $80.00

Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = $75.00, which
becomes the allowed amount.

Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2
percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., $80.00 + $4.16=
$84.16), no high-volume provider payment add-on is applied, resulting in
the actual payment to the provider of $75.00.

(g) Example 3:

1.
2.
3.

4.

Billed charges = $82.00

Medicaid published fee = $80.00

Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = $80.00, which
becomes the allowed amount.

Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2
percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., $80.00 + $4.16 =
$84.16), only part of the high-volume provider payment add-on is applied
(i.e., up to the billed charges) resulting in the actual payment to the provider
of $82.00.

(h) Medicaid payments for ASC services do not exceed Medicare payments for these
same ASC services.

(i) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees effective September 1, 2021 and
is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule posted on the
agency’s website by September 15, 2021.

(j) All fee schedules are available through the agency’s website as outlined on
attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

TN: 21-0037 Approval Date: 10/28/2021

Superseded TN: 21-0014 Effective Date: 09/01/2021





